My list of classics

Posted: February 1, 2011 in Style, Wardrobe
Tags: ,

I have my own list of favorite classics that I cannot live without, which I narrowed down to 15 items.

Trench coat – one can never have too many trench coats. At least two are a must, the khaki one and a black one. Classic trench can go with any outfit, or server as an outfit by itself. If I need to come out and do not want to spend much time getting ready, I simply throw on my trench over whatever I am wearing and slip into a pair of black pumps and I look and feel fabulous.
Good blazer – could be any versatile blazer in neutral color. I have two favorites: a coffee colored tweed J. Crew blazer and a cotton navy blazer from Gap

Neutral t-shirt: black, white, nude t-shirt or tank – I am not a fan of a popular crisp white shirt, so I prefer replacing it with a plain white or flesh-colored t-shirt or tank top.
Striped shirt – This is my personal favorite of all times, I have a number of striped shirts in different colors and styles
cashmere cardigan, sweater, sweater set

LBD – out of many available styles I prefer knee length boatneck sheath
Princess seam sundress – summer just would not be the same without my Nine West black and white princess seam sundress. I also have another one, in purple and white.

Pencil skirt – my favorite is Theory navy wool skirt
Trouser jeans – Recently we were allowed to wear jeans to work, but even though, I prefer trouser jeans to regular bootcut jeans for the office. They just create much more polished, professional look that I love.
Wool trousers
White pants – the most versatile item I have in my wardrobe, the number of combos I can create with those white pants is endless.

Neutral pumps – there are two neutral colors for pumps I prefer – black and nude. Nude I like to wear either barefoot or with flesh-colored stockings to visually elongate my legs, and black with black opaque stockings or pants for the same reason.
Knee boots
Ankle booties

Pearls – I have a string of pearls and a pair of akoya pearl studs I could not possibly survive without. When it comes to pearls, my motto is “when in doubt – wear pearls”. I can hardly think of anything that does not go with simple white pearls. Simple, understated, neutral – what more could a grl ask for?

Leave a Reply

